You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Welcome to the Rhode Island Chapter Website


Kelly A. McGarry, MD, FACP

Dr. McGarry serves as the official representative of the College for the Rhode Island Chapter, providing a link between members at the local level and leadership at the national level. To learn more about Dr. McGarry, read her bio.

Welcome Letter | Past Governors | Governor-elect | Diversity Policy


E. Jane Carter, MD receives Milton Hamolsky Lifetime Achievement Award

The Rhode Island Chapter Lifetime Achievement award is named after Dr. Milton Hamolsky, a former Governor of the Chapter. Dr. Carter was recognized during our Chapter meeting in March 2021. Dr. Carter is an exceptional physician, colleague, teacher, and mentor who has received numerous awards throughout her distinguished career. As noted in her official bio, "her training is in Pulmonary and Critical Care, but the emphasis of her clinical practice for the last 25 years has been in tuberculosis. Dr. Carter has worked domestically as the Medical Director of the Rhode Island TB Clinic from 1990-2007 and as a senior consultant in the RI Clinic until 2013. She served on the Advisory Committee for the Elimination of TB at CDC and is a member of the National TB Controller’s Association and STOP TB USA. She is the past President of the International Union Against TB and Lung Disease (The Union) and a medical consultant for the Global Tuberculosis Institute." Dr. Carter is also a faculty member at the Alpert School of Medicine and a clinician at the Brown Medicine Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, East Providence.

Vincent A. Armenio, MD, FACP receives 2021 Irving Beck Laureate Award

The Irving Beck Laureate Award honors Fellows and Masters of the College who have demonstrated an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, or research and service to their community, their Chapter, and the American College of Physicians. It is named after Dr. Irving Beck, a former Governor of the Chapter. As noted in his his official bio: "Dr. Armenio is a widely-respected Hematologist/Oncologist who has held a number of leadership roles at Roger Williams Medical Center, including Vice Chairman of the Department of Medicine and Associate Director of the Cancer Center. He currently holds the position of Chairman of the Department of Medicine at Roger Williams, where he provides oversight of clinical affairs, quality care, program development, and outreach to community physicians and other providers. Dr. Armenio’s research interests include medical oncology and clinical trials. He is also an Assistant Professor of Medicine at Boston University School of Medicine."

Award Archives

Chapter Awardees | Chapter Awards

Member News

Congratulations to Fadwa Ahmed, a medical student at Brown University's Warren Alpert School of Medicine. She received an award at the 2021 ACP National Abstract Competition in the Medical Student Clinical Vignette ePoster category.

Poster title: "Sweet's syndrome in the setting of newly-initiated risankizumab therapy for psoriasis"

More Member News

Connect with us