You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Performance Measurement Committee

The Performance Measurement Committee oversees the performance measurement related activities of the College.

The Performance Measurement Committee develops and disseminates policies and strategies to encourage the use of high-quality, evidence-based performance measures to optimally guide the improvement of the quality of patient care and practice of Internal Medicine. The College also is deeply involved in the critical review and evaluation of performance measures developed by other organizations.


The Performance Measurement Committee is composed of physicians trained in Internal Medicine and its subspecialties and include clinical experts in performance measure development and evaluation, healthcare administration, and health information technology. The members represent a variety of health care settings including private practice, academic medical centers, large health systems, and the purchasing community.

Disclosure of Interest

Disclosures of Interest for all members and ACP staff are reported, discussed, and resolved at the start of each Performance Measurement Committee meeting and conference call.

View the most recent Disclosures of Interest.

Reports to:

Board of Regents


To lead, formulate, and oversee the development and dissemination of clinical policies related to performance measurement/measures to improve the value and quality of care and strategies to use performance measurement/measures to optimally guide the improvement of the quality of patient care, health of the population, and practice of Internal Medicine.

Composition (12-13)

Chair, who is an ACP member physician; Vice Chair and 10 additional members. Immediate Past Chair shall serve for 1 year after his/her term expiration as a Chair, with no reappointment (maximum of 1 year). Strive for representatives from each of the following: Board of Regents; purchasing community; large health plan; physician expert in medical informatics; two practicing physicians.


One-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the Chair, BOR.

2022-23 Members

Nick Fitterman, MD, MACP, Chair
Executive Director, Huntington Hospital
Professor of Medicine Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell
Huntington, NY
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

J. Thomas Cross Jr, MD, FAAP, FACP, Vice Chair
President and CEO
A-Cross Medicine Reviews
Colorado Springs, CO
Specialty: Infectious Disease

Rebecca A. Andrews, MD, MS, FACP (Regent)
Professor of Medicine Associate Program Director
Internal Medicine Residency Director of Ambulatory Education, Internal Medicine Residency
Connecticut Health Center
Farmington, CT
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Peter Basch, MD, MACP
Senior Director for IT Quality and Safety, Research, and National Health IT Policy
MedStar Health
Washington, DC
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Caroline L. Goldzweig, MD, MS
Chief Medical Officer
Cedars-Sinai Medical Care Foundation
Los Angeles, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Scott T. Mac Donald, MD, FACP, FAMIA
Medical Director, Clinical Informatics
UC Davis Health
Sacramento, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Catherine Maclean, MD, PhD
Chief Value Medical Officer & Senior VP, Center for the Advancement of Value in Musculoskeletal Care
Professor of Medicine, Weill Cornell Medical College
New York, NY
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Suja M. Mathew, MD, FACP (Regent)
Chair of Medicine
Cook County Health
Chicago, IL
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Robert M. McLean, MD, MACP
Associate Clinical Professor, Yale School of Medicine
Northeast Medical Group of Yale New Haven Health
New Haven, CT
Specialty: Internal Medicine

COL Cristin A. Mount, MD, MACP, FCCM
Associate Professor of Medicine
Madigan Army Medical Center
Joint Base Lewis McChord, WA
Specialty: Critical Care Medicine

Rhea E. Powell, MD, FACP
Philadelphia, PA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Sameer D. Saini, MD, MS
Associate Professor, Division of Gastroenterology
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Staff Liaison: Amir Qaseem,