You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Chapters Subcommittee


Reports to:

Executive Committee of the Board of Governors


Recommend to the Executive Committee of the Board of Governors strategies to encourage the growth, development, and effective operation of all chapters; foster an effective network among chapters, the Board of Governors and the national organization; and national support for chapter activities.

Responsibilities include:

  • Setting standards, developing resources, and recognizing chapters for effective chapter management.
  • Overseeing the formation of new chapters and regions, upon approval of the Board of Regents.
  • Promoting and supporting the establishment of local councils and committees that will aid the Governor in carrying out the functions of the chapter and provide opportunities for member involvement and participation.
  • Reviewing and monitoring chapter finances and making recommendations on methods of support and funding from the national organization.
  • Promoting medical education at the local level by fostering an annual scientific meeting as a central focus in each chapter. Monitoring attendance, promotion mechanisms and all components of chapter meetings, and developing recommendations for improvements as needed.
  • Promoting the chapter as a forum for effective two-way communication and recommending strategies for improving communication between the chapter and the national organization.
  • Enhancing chapter advocacy through legislative and policy activities, in collaboration with DGAPP staff and the Health and Public Policy and Medical Practice and Quality Committees, as appropriate.
  • Reviewing and guiding the application of data based on chapter activities.
  • Fostering the development of local programs and activities that encourage professionalism and collegiality, and facilitating the involvement of College members (Master, Fellows, Members, Resident/Fellow Members, and Medical Students) in the chapter.
  • Encouraging the recognition of members locally through chapter awards such as the Laureate and Volunteerism Awards.
  • Responding to other chapter related needs as identified.

Composition (8)

Chair, who is a Governor; Vice Chair, who is a Governor; five members, who are Governors, one member who is Chapter staff.


Governor positions are one-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the Chair, BOR. Chapter staff position is one-year, renewable one time for a total of two years.

2022-23 Members

Ruth E. Weissberger, MD, FACP, Chair (Governor)
Program Director, Yale-Waterbury Internal Medicine Residency Program
Assistant Clinical Professor, Yale School of Medicine
Assistant Clinical Professor, Frank H. Netter School of Medicine of Quinnipiac University
Waterbury Hospital
Waterbury, CT
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Cynthia L. Peacock, MD, FACP, FAAP, Vice Chair (Governor)
Associate Professor of Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Daniel J. Elliott, MD, MSCE, FACP, FAAP (Governor)
Executive Director, eBrightHealth ACO
Senior Medical Director Value-Based Programs and Network Performance
Hockessin, DE
Specialty: Medicine-Pediatrics

Daniel I. Kim, MD, MBA, FACP (Governor)
Chair of Medicine, Director of Graduate Medical Education/Designated Institutional Officer, Riverside University Health System; Clinical Professor of Medicine
University of California, Riverside
Moreno Valley, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Susan Lee, MD, FACP (Governor)
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
State University of New York, Stony Brook
East Setauket, NY
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Rachel Leah Ramirez, MD, FACP (Governor)
Associate Program Director for the Internal Medicine Residency Program
Abington Memorial Hospital
Department of Medicine
Abington, PA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Eric Javier Ulloa, MD, FACP (Governor)
Health Quality Coordinator
Social Security Health System
Panama, Republic of Panama
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Liz Truong, CAE, CFRE (Chapter Staff)
Vice President of Client Development
Association Management Inc
Gig Harbor, WA

Staff Liaison: Keirston Scott