You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

ACP Announces New Masterships and Awardees for 2021-2022

The Mastership Committee and Awards Committee are pleased to announce that the Board of Regents has approved the following individuals and institutions to receive College awards and Masterships for FY 2021-22. If you would like to personally congratulate any of the new awardees or MACPs, please contact John Haefele, Administrator, Board of Regents and Governance Activities, at

Please join us in congratulating the awardees and new MACPs.

John Phillips Memorial Award for Outstanding Work in Clinical Medicine
Jeffrey L. Carson, MD, MACP
New Brunswick, New Jersey

James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine
Anne Schuchat, MD, MACP
Atlanta, Georgia

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to the American College of Physicians
Sandra Adamson Fryhofer, MD, MACP
Atlanta, Georgia

Harriet P. Dustan Award for Outstanding Work in Science as Related to Medicine
John H. Beigel, MD
Bethesda, Maryland

William G. Kaelin Jr., MD
Boston, Massachusetts

Edward R. Loveland Memorial Award
Honoring Individual Power & Strength (HIPS)
Washington, District of Columbia

Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award
Thomas M. De Fer, MD, MACP
Saint Louis, Missouri

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award for Devotion of a Career in Internal Medicine to the Care of Patients
Warren C. Lovinger Jr., MD, MACP
Nevada, Missouri

Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award
Salvatore Mangione, MD
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award
Asif Rahman, MD, FACP
Charleston, West Virginia

Joseph F. Boyle Award for Distinguished Public Service
Sen. Ronald Wyden
Portland, Oregon

Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service
Teresa E. Clark, MD, FACP
Buford, Georgia

Walter J. McDonald Award for Young Physicians
Tiffany I. Leung, MD, MPH, FACP
Maastricht, The Netherlands

Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award
Gabriela Bernal, MD
New York, New York

Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator
Janaki Deepak, MBBS, FACP
Cockeysville, Maryland

W. Lester Henry Award for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Frances E. Ferguson, MD, FACP
Albany, Georgia

Samuel Eichold II Memorial Award for Contributions in Diabetes
Irl B. Hirsch, MD, MACP
Bellevue, Washington

ACP Award for Distinguished Contributions to Behavioral Medicine
Mitesh S. Patel, MD
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

ACP Award for Outstanding Educator of Residents and Fellows
John V. L. Sheffield, MD, FACP
Seattle, Washington

Steven E. Weinberger Award for Physician Executives/Leaders
John H. Vassall II, MD FACP
Seattle, Washington

Elizabeth and Emily Blackwell Award for Outstanding Contributions to Advancing the Careers of Women in Medicine
Betty M. Drees, MD, FACP
Kansas City, Missouri


Robert M. Aaronson, MD, MACP
Tucson, Arizona

George M. Abraham, MD, MPH, MACP, FIDSA
Worcester, Massachusetts

Guillermo L. Acuña, MD, MACP
Santiago, Chile

Maha M. Abdulaziz Al Saud, MD, MACP
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Aron Benzadon Cohen, MD, MACP
Panama, Panama

Thomas A. Bledsoe, MD, MACP
Riverside, Rhode Island

Robert W. Bundtzen, MD, MACP
Anchorage, Alaska

Richard W. Burns, MD, MACP
Columbia, Missouri

Christian T. Cable, MD, MACP
Temple, Texas

Jose L. Cangiano, MD, MACP
San Juan, Puerto Rico

Jeffrey L. Carson, MD, MACP
New Brunswick, New Jersey

Eliza L. Chin, MD, MACP
Piedmont, California

Karen E. Clark, MD, MACP
Morgantown, West Virginia

George D. Comerci, MD, MACP
Pueblo, Colorado

Carolyn J. Crandall, MD, MACP
Los Angeles, California

Deidra Crews, MD, MACP
Baltimore, Maryland

Gerard J. Criner, MD, MACP
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Thomas M. De Fer, MD, MACP
Saint Louis, Missouri

Sima S. Desai, MD, MACP
Portland, Oregon

Bethesda, Maryland

Tracey E. Doering, MD, MACP
Nashville, Tennessee

Anthony A. Donato, MD, MACP
Birdsboro, Pennsylvania

Steven J. Durning, MD, MACP
Montgomery Village, Maryland

Andrew Elder, MBChB, MACP
Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Sara B. Fazio, MD, MACP
Brookline, Massachusetts

Allen R. Friedland, MD, MACP
Hockessin, Delaware

David L. George, MD, MACP
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania

Neil Edward Gibson, MD, MACP
Sturgeon County, Alberta, Canada

José Halabe Cherem, MD, MACP
Mexico City, Mexico

Saba A. Hasan, MD, MACP
Warminster, Pennsylvania

Temple S. Howell-Stampley, MD, MACP
Desoto, Texas

Janet A. Jokela, MD, MACP
Urbana, Illinois

Lawrence I. Kaplan, MD, MACP
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

COL William F. Kelly, MC MD USA, MACP
Potomac, Maryland

David S. Kountz, MD, MACP
Neptune, New Jersey

Peter R. Lichstein, MD, MACP
Winston Salem, North Carolina

Jess Mandel, MD, MACP
La Jolla, California

JoAnn E. Manson, MD, MACP
Beverly, Massachusetts

COL Cristin A. Mount, MD, MACP
Lakewood, Washington

Anita C. Murcko, MD, MACP
Scottsdale, Arizona

Arumugam Muruganathan, MD, MACP
Tirupur, India

John D. Myers, MD, MACP
Temple, Texas

Eric G. Neilson, MD, MACP
Chicago, Illinois

Connie B. Newman, MD, MACP
Warren, New Jersey

Kim M. O'Connor, MD, MACP
Seattle, Washington

COL Patrick G. O'Malley, MD, MACP
Washington, District of Columbia

Chung Owyang, MD. MACP
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Polly E. Parsons, MD, MACP
Burlington, Vermont

Herbert Y. Reynolds, MD, MACP
Hershey, Pennsylvania

Elena Rios, MD, MACP
Washington, District of Columbia

Michael J. Rosenblum, MD, MACP
Amherst, Massachusetts

Philip S. Schein, MD, MACP
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania

Christine S. Seibert, MD, MACP
Madison, Wisconsin

Nestor Sosa, MD, MACP
Albuquerque, New Mexico

Lucy R. Sutphen, MD, MACP
Seattle, Washington

Howard V. Williams, MD, MACP
San Diego, California

Dean L. Winslow, MD, MACP
Stanford, California

CAPT Patrick E. Young, MD, MACP
North Potomac, Maryland

Roy T. Young, MD, MACP
Rancho Mirage, California