You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

About the Chapter


Catherine R. Womack, MD, FACP

Dr. Womack serves as the official representative of the College for the Tennessee Chapter, providing a link between members at the local level and leadership at the national level. To learn more about Dr. Womack, read her bio.

Welcome Letter | Chapter Bylaws | Past Governors


Dr. Michael Kevin Smith selected for advancement to Mastership

Dr. Smith was officially recognized with ACP Mastership during the 2021 Internal Medicine Meeting. Masterships are awarded because of “personal character, positions of honor, contributions towards furthering the purposes of the ACP, eminence in practice or in medical research, or other attainments in science or in the art of medicine." Dr. Smith is an Assistant Professor in the Division of General Internal Medicine and Public Health, Department of Medicine at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine. He has served in medical directorship positions both in private practice and in academics. At Vanderbilt, he has served as a physician leader for EPIC implementation and Health Information Management.

Dr. Ryan Mire becomes ACP President-elect

Tennessee Chapter member Ryan D. Mire, MD, FACP, has been named President-elect of the American College of Physicians (ACP), representing internal medicine physicians (internists), related subspecialists, and medical students. Dr. Mire's term as president-elect began on Saturday, May 2, 2021, at the conclusion of ACP's Annual Business Meeting, and he will be formally installed as president in April of 2022. Dr. Mire will be the fourth African American physician to serve in the office of the president, following the distinguished Gerald E. Thomson, MD, MACP (1995–96), Charles K. Francis, MD, MACP (2004–05), and Wayne J. Riley, MD, MPH, MBA, MACP (2015–16).

Award Archives

Chapter Awardees | Award Descriptions & Call for 2021 Nominations | Chapter Awards

Connect with us: