You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

About the Chapter


Stephen R. Hayes, MD, MACP

Dr. Hayes serves as the official representative of the College for the Maine Chapter, providing a link between members at the local level and leadership at the national level. To learn more about Dr. Hayes, read his bio.

Welcome Letter | Past Governors


2 Chapter Members awarded Masterships in 2021

As of the 2021 IM meeting in April, two members of our Chapter received ACP Masterships. Congratulations to Dr. John E. Erickson (left) and Dr. Roger A. Renfrew (right). We also want to recognize Dr. William M. Medd and Dr. Stephen R. Hayes, who received Mastership in 2020. We are delighted that your outstanding contributions to internal medicine have been recognized.

2021 Laureate and Award Recipients

Michael Roy, MD FACP was the 2021 Maine Chapter Laureate recipient, which as presented at the conclusion of the 2021 Maine Chapter Annual Scientific Meeting. Dr. Roy is the Chief of the Department of Medicine at the Maine Medical Center (MMC), Portland, ME.  Dr. Roy is also the Founder and Co-Director of the Maine Digestive Health Center at MMC. 


Maine Chapter: Medical Student Award

Hsin (Cindy) Chu, MS III received the Medical Student of the Year Award from the Maine Chapter.  Ms. Chu attends the University of New England.  Cindy has been instrumental planning events and conversation for the Medical Students.

Maine Chapter Advocacy Award:

The Maine Chapter honored Hani Jarawan, MD FACP with the Chapter Advocacy Award.  Dr. Jarawan, a hospitalist, works at MMC.

Dr. Jarawan has testified at the Maine state legislature, been a voice for ACP policies with Maine’s congressional delegation, provided advocacy training to MMC Internal Medicine residents.

Congratulations to the Maine Chapter Award Recipients!!


Award Archives

Laureate Award Recipients | Chapter Awards

Member News

Dr. Richard Kahn (right; Pre-Covid photo) was one of the storytellers

During the Richard Engel Primary Care Symposium in March, we held our first Story Slam featuring chapter members sharing memorable experiences and reflections on medicine. Micheal LaCombe, MD MACP spoke about the history of storytelling at ACP and then Robert Aranson, MD FACP, Tufts medical student Beth Garbitelli, Renee Fay-LeBlanc, MD FACP, Malual Mabur, PA-C, Lesley Fernow, MD FACP and Richard Kahn, MD MACP all told many very moving stories. We look forward to future Story Slams!

Connect with us